Exercise

Exercise is one of my favorite ways to self care.  I run almost everyday.  Spending time alone, heart pounding, sweating, smelly, and thoughtless is absolutely blissful to me.  As it turns out there is a biochemical backing for my happy feeling.  Exercise releases endorphins, the brain’s natural morphine.  It may also release dopamine, serotonine and norepinephrine.  Those chemicals are also related to relaxing and feeling good.

Here are some resources if you are starting to think about an exercise program:

  • Runner’s World: Contains an excellent set of articles, training and nutrition guides, and inspiration for runners. I especially recommend the Smart Coach program on the “Training” page.
  • Yoga Journal: Resources for people hoping to get into yoga. Under the “Poses” page you can build a sequence of different yoga poses, or look up poses for specific anatomical or therapeutic focuses.
  • One Hundred Push-ups: A plan to train for completing 100 push ups.  Disclaimer: I have tried this multiple times and I have never been able to complete all 100 push ups.  However, I have gained a lot of upper body strength and increased the number of push-ups that I can do.  Overall, I would say that it is worth it.
  • Two Hundred Sit-Ups: 100 push-ups with twice as many sit-ups.  I’ve never actually tried this plan, but I may give it a whirl.
  • Your City’s Homepage: Check this out for various rec leagues of team sports.  To find your city’s homepage, just search for your city using the “Yourcity, YourState” format in Google or another search engine you prefer.

Good luck with your fitness and self care journey!

