The past two weeks have been really stressful.  I have had two grad school interviews and came home to find out that one of my favorite uncles had passed away.  I spent parts of every night last week at my aunt’s house with the entire family.  We cried together, laughed together, ate and drank together.  The communion I experienced last week was one that I have very rarely encountered.  I am thankful for my family, for community, for the community shared pain can bring.

When feeling stressed in general, spending time with others can help distract, comfort and normalize feelings.  Spending time with people you can vent with seems to help me release tension.  Not to mention, maintaining positive relationships with people has been correlated with fewer health issues and lower stress levels in general.  Call someone you love today.  Reconnect with someone you miss.  Turn your cell phone off, shut down your computer and talk to your partner, a friend, your parents.  Connect with others.

