I started my new job at Childrens’ Residential Treatment Center through Volunteers of America about three weeks ago.  Although I was expecting it to be very similiar to Holcomb House, I am finding that they serve a pretty different population and therefore use a different approach.  CRTC works primarily with adolescents dealing with mood disorders as opposed to Reactive Attachment Disorder.  As a direct result of this difference in population, the clients at CRTC are typically closer developmentally to their chronological age and as counselors, we use a lot more insight with our treatment methodology.  I am finding myself making the switch from being skills based to insight based in my approach as well.  Although I wasn’t really expecting the differences that I found, I am looking forward to learning a new approach to use with kids.  Expect to stay updated!

