I wanted to put up a quick note saying that I started the second (and final!) year of my Masters degree and with that, my internship and practicum. I’m doing it part-time at the an outpatient clinic and part time at juvenile correctional facility. My experiences at both places so far have really highlighted both how much I know and how much I really don’t know.

One of the more interesting experiences I’m having as a staff person is in corrections. For the first time in my professional life, as a white woman on the staff I am in the minority. It feels really strange, as women especially and white people in general, have dominated all of the social service positions I’ve worked in previously.It’s also the first time I’ve been in any sort of non-direct care role. Figuring out how I want to navigate that power differential is on the top of my mind right now.

In addition to those foreign experiences, there are my actual clients, from whom I have so much to learn. It’s really exciting to me to have all of this stuff to learn and all of these people to learn from. It sounds strange, but for now, I’m really looking forward to the inevitable feeling of incompetence that these new challenges will bring and then expanding my world so that those challenges no longer leave me feeling off-balance.

Essentially, I have a lot to learn. My internship and practicum are compelling that learning.

